Review: Backstage by Jacqueline E. Smith

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset

“I have a thousand different thoughts and emotions all colliding inside my mind and my heart”


Published: December 8th 2015

Published by: Wind Trail Publishing

ISBN: 9780989673488

Pages:  190

Status: Read on January 2-5, 2017

Rating: ★★★★★


SUMMARY:

Melissa Parker might just be the luckiest girl on the planet.

She’s just turned twenty-one.
She’s best friends with The Kind of September.
And she’s dating Sam Morneau, everyone’s ultimate celebrity crush. Of course, no one is supposed to know about that.

As it turns out, no one is supposed to know about a lot of things that happen behind the scenes of life with the planet’s most popular boy band. Now, what should be Happily Ever After for Mel and Sam is turning into a series of secrets, manipulation, and potential heartbreak… Just in time for The Kind of September’s world tour.


REVIEW:

*Copy provided by author in exchange for an honest review*
As soon as I have finished Boy Band, I’ve been wanting to have this book in my life and when I finally received my copy, it goes without saying that I slept past my bedtime just to read it. Since the ending of Boy Band has a cliffhanger + a terrible secret revealed, I know for a fact that Mel’s going to have a hard in this second book. While it is true that this kind of plot-line is cliche, it doesn’t stop me from being nervous while reading it. This secret will ruin the whole band’s friendship if found out. Of course, this book is much better than the first one since it has LOADS OF DRAMA AND SWEET ROMANCE BETWEEN MEL AND OUR FAVORITE MEMBER OF THE BAND, SAM.

 

I felt bad for Mel for keeping such a secret she really want to tell to Sam and Joni, but it will ruin the band and Mel doesn’t want that either, so she decided to protect the band by keeping the secret. Still, when the Joni and the others found out the secret, some weren’t considerate enough to let Mel explain her side *ehem* Joni *ehem* The first half of the story is the usual goofy TKOS moments except for the behind the scenes romantic moments of our two main characters, WHICH IS SO SWEET BTW! Then there’s Tara to ruin it all and omg, she has the nerve to point all the bad things to Mel, huh? what a b*tch! There’s also Cory who I hope will learn to forgive Jesse. For Jesse though, I’m not mad at him because he couldn’t help falling for Tara. The only difference between Cory and Jesse is that Jesse saw who Tara really is. If there’s one character aside from Tara I’m kinda annoyed with, it’s Joni. But her reaction is understandable; I’m just hoping she will give Mel a second chance.

Despite the twists and turns, revelations, betrayals, and drama moments, Miss Jacqueline still managed to give fans a light, fast-paced read that will surely make you turn every page despite being 5 o’clock in the morning. Aside from that, the song lyrics every chapter and the new songs have to be appreciated. I kinda hope there will be a movie of this series so that I can hear the songs! SCRATCH THAT! THERE SHOULD BE A MOVIE!!! anyway people, Y’ALL NEED TO READ THIS!

 

Leave a Reply

