Top Ten Books of 2016


l


This is kinda late but better late than never, right??? so last 2016, I set my reading challenge to 40 books but unfortunately, I wasn’t able to complete it and I only read 31 books. Nevertheless, there are great boys that I’ve read last year and here I present them to you ❤

I posted on my instagram account (@/queenjaymhir) my Top 10 Books of the year 2016. But I still wanted to do something special so here, I’m going to give each book a moment of spotlight because they deserved it! I recommend all of them so please check them out and give them a try. If you need someone to fangirl/fanboy with, just contact me here on my blog or send a DM on my ig account.


— IN NO PARTICULAR ORDER —

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset1. THE TRIALS OF APOLLO: THE HIDDEN ORACLE BY RICK RIORDAN

★★★★★

This is the first book of a new series by Rick Riordan. I love everything about this book. Apollo is my favorite Greek god which is why it also became one of my most anticipated books of 2016. Full of humor, actions, and little amount of drama! It’s good to be back at Camp Half-Blood and be able to see what happened to my favorite characters after the events of Heroes of Olympus. If you’re a Rick Riordan fan or just wanted a good, funny book, then this one’s for yah!

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset2. ANTIGODDESS BY KENDARE BLAKE

★★★.5

My first Kendare Blake book. The book is good. The story is good. Imagine, the Greek gods and goddesses we know are dying despite being immortals. I enjoyed most of it, but there were times I don’t get what’s happening anymore. It’s a bit slow paced for me but I didn’t get bored. I also liked the way the author inserts stories from the Greek mythology, the Trojan War, via Athena’s reminiscence. I’m also amazed at Blake’s writing style. The way she describes what’s happening and the vivid images left me amazed. And yes, this is another Greek myth book so y’all know by now that I’m such a Greek nerd. The second book of this series is The Mortal Gods, and I enjoyed that much more. I have yet to read the third book.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset3. BOY BAND BY JACQUELINE E. SMITH

★★★★.5

THIS BOOK IS SO CUTE! LIGHT READ, FAST-PACED, AND DEFINITELY WON’T BORED YOU! I read this for only a day! I only had to stop halfway because I need to sleep. Recommending this to all bookworms out there! It is written in a first person point of view, narrated by the main character of the story, Melissa. I love how every chapter starts with a part of a song from the boys’ band. It adds uniqueness to the story and you can clearly see the awesomeness of Miss Jacqueline in writing the lyrics. All in all, it’s a very very very very very good book!

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset4. HOLES BY LOUIS SACHAR

★★★★★

I know I have said this at my instagram post but lemme say it again… I WISH I HAVE READ THIS BOOK AS A KID! It’s great, amazing, fast-paced, light read but it kinda hurt my feelings in some scenes (haha!) Seriously though, there’s a lot of what happened in that 240 pages and I loved every page of it! I’m so thankful I found a copy at a local 2nd hand bookstore and gave it a try. It became one of the great books I’ve read. I even watched the movie and I’m glad they stayed faithful to the novel.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset5. THE WINNER’S KISS BY MARIE RUTKOSKI

★★★★★

Y’ALL NEED TO KNOW: THIS IS MY MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2016! It hurt me that our local bookstore was 2 weeks late upon the release date of this book. And when they texted me that my copy’s already at the store, I kinda (haha) forced my pops to get it for me. I was crying inside when I got my hands on it and immediately read it. Slowly though because I don’t want it to end. I’m not gonna talk about the summary of this book since this is already the last book of the series and I don’t to spoil; but please do read The Winner’s Curse. It is a dystopian novel centered on the intelligent Kestrel and the slave she bought, Arin. The romance is not rush but I love it so much! If only I could give this a much more higher rate than 5.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset6. MAGNUS CHASE AND THE GODS OF ASGARD: THE SWORD OF SUMMER BY RICK RIORDAN

★★★★

Another Rick Riordan book on the list! As much as I love the Greeks, I enjoyed this book a lot too! Learned so much about the Norse mythology, which is kinda a new thing for me. I also enjoyed and loved the chapter titles especially the one with the Star Wars reference and the one wherein a character from the seven demigods (Heroes of Olympus) was mentioned. Magnus’ pretty hilarious too and I’ve lost count on how many times he managed to get a laugh from me. The only downside of this book and of Magnus is that he sounds exactly like Percy Jackson; still funny but not entirely unique.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset7. FANTASTIC BEASTS AND WHERE TO FIND THEM ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY BY J.K. ROWLING

★★★★★

Actually, this is the screenplay of the movie rather than a book but I still loved and enjoyed it. I fell in love with the movie so I had to get this one and in less than a day, I finished it. As expected by the queen J.K. Rowling, the screenplay is magical just like the other HP books. I’m also head over heels with Eddie Redmayne/Newt Scamander. The creatures are also cute especially the Niffler! Read this after or maybe before you watch the movie please.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset8. MISS PEREGRINE’S HOME FOR PECULIAR CHILDREN BY RANSOM RIGGS

★★★★

This book is intriguing af! The photos included creeped me out but they helped widen my imagination while reading it. There’s some parts of the story that is quite confusing I had to reread it. The ending, especially the part between Jacob and his father was also a bit rush for me. Emma and Jacob’s love team is a little bit meh because the former is the latter’s grandpa’s ex. That’s kinda weird. Wishing there’s more about the peculiar children since they are sooo cute. But overall, it’s a good read! Not scary at all though it screams Halloween.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset9. ARISTOTLE AND DANTE DISCOVER THE SECRETS OF THE UNIVERSE BY BENJAMIN ALIRE SAENZ

★★★★★

This book is so beautiful!!!!! I’m in love with it, the writing, the story, the characters, BASICALLY EVERYTHING! READ IT PEOPLE! After reading the last page, I was like “omg what did I just read” with maybe a few tears running down my cheek  and right there, it became one of my favorite stand alone novels. However, if you’re not into gay novels, I won’t push you to read it but still, it’s worth giving a try.

Processed with VSCO with se3 preset10. THRONE OF GLASS BY SARAH J. MAAS

★★★★★

I was drawn into the magnificent world of the Throne of Glass series. It’s no wonder everyone’s so in love with the plot, the characters, and the world. Celaena is so badass I can’t helped loving her. Aside from Celaena though, Nehemia also became a  favorite character; she’s the kind of princess you really want to follow, so brave and yet ready to fight for her people. The action scenes in this book (or series) is exquisitely written, it wasn’t difficult to imagine what’s happening. If you’re into fantasy and badass female leads, this is a green light book for you.


Well, those are my top 10 books of the year 2016. I still haven’t read the sequels of some of the books so hopefully this 2017, I will finish them and maybe by the end of the year I’d be able to come up with a list of my favorite series. That’s all for now. Thank you!


Leave a Reply

