Review: Boy Band by Jacqueline E. Smith

k

“Like I said, it’s weird being in love with your best friend. It’s even weirder when the rest of the world is in love with him, too.”


Date Published: April 21, 2015

Published by: Wind Trail Publishing

ISBN: 9780989673440

Pages: 196

Status: Read on July 10, 2016

Rating: ★★★★.5


SUMMARY:

Sam Morneau is Melissa Parker’s best friend. He’s also a member of The Kind of September, basically the hottest boy band on the planet.

After two and a half years, Mel is all too familiar with the day-to-day occurrences that come with being a member of the band’s inner circle, including hectic schedules, passionate fans, and gossip-mongering celebrity girlfriends.

Now, with the release of the group’s third album just weeks away, their lives have never been crazier and Mel is doing everything she can to keep up, all the while trying to cope with the ridiculous rumors that follow the band everywhere they go and pretending that she isn’t harboring a secret and hopeless crush on Sam.

It’s weird enough being in love with your best friend. It’s even weirder when the rest of the world is in love with him, too.


REVIEW:

The author of this book sent me a paperback copy in exchange of an honest review.

THIS BOOK IS SO CUTE! LIGHT READ, FAST-PACED, AND DEFINITELY WON’T BORED YOU! I read this for only a day! I only had to stop halfway because I need to sleep. Recommending this to all bookworms out there! It is written in a first person point of view, narrated by the main character of the story, Melissa.

I can relate to Melissa in so many ways; like her love for YA books and being a fangirl to that hot Irish guy (hahaha!) Miss Jacqueline wrote Melissa as if she’s a real person. She’s a sweetheart and a very down to earth person; I would love her as a friend! Actually, not just Mel but also all the characters. Even the boys. They’re are so adorable, btw! I think I’m head over heels with Sam! He’s also a sweetheart, funny, and nice. Who wouldn’t want a Sam in their lives? Every girl needs a guy best friend like him. Aside from Sam, the other four boys are funny as hell, too. Especially Josh and his “I’m-not-the-most-sensitive” drama. I wish I get to hear Oliver’s accent. Jesse is said to be the biggest flirt of the band but he’s not the very annoying flirty type. In fact, it only made him cuter. As for Cory, he doesn’t stand out that much for me. His girlfriend though is the b*tch (and her BFF) and I really don’t fancy her. The romance between our two main characters is so cute and I would love to read more about it! It happened 2 chapters before the ending, I think? That’s why it’s not enough for me. THE ENDING IS A MAJOR CLIFFHANGER! It leave me hanging and wanting for more…

I love how every chapter starts with a part of a song from the boys’ band. It adds uniqueness to the story and you can clearly see the awesomeness of Miss Jacqueline in writing the lyrics. All in all, it’s a very very very very very good book!

4 thoughts on “Review: Boy Band by Jacqueline E. Smith

  1. rose says:

    While reading your review, I had one boy band in mind, One Direction. 😍 I’m a huge fangirl of those guys, so I might relate to this book. Hoping to get my own copy for a review as well. Still waiting for the go signal of the author though.😊

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

