Review: Broken Forest by Eliza Tilton

k

“I never thought I could feel the way I did when you first walked in.”


Date Published: May 1, 2013

Published by: Curiosity Quills Press

ISBN: 9781620072516

Pages: 296

Status: Read on May 19 to 23, 2016

Rating: ★★★★


SUMMARY:

Hopeless he’ll never be more than the boy who didn’t save his brother, 17-year-old Avikar accepts his life as the family stable boy, trying to forget the past. But when his sister, Jeslyn, is kidnapped, the thought of losing another sibling catapults him on a desperate quest. With his best friend by his side, and using the tracking skills he learned from his father, he discovers Jeslyn has been taken, kidnapped by one Lucino, the young lord of Daath, a mystical place thought only to exist in fables.

And Lucino has plans for Jeslyn.

His shape-shifting brethren feed off the auras of humans, and Jeslyn’s golden hue is exactly what Lucino needs to increase his power. The longer it takes Avikar to reach her, the more entranced she becomes with Lucino’s world, and the harder it will be for Avikar to set her free.

He failed his family once. He won’t fail again.


REVIEW:

Okay, first off. I’d liked to thank Miss Eliza Tilton for giving me a free ebook copy in exchange of an honest review.

I love this book! It exceeded my expectations and I was blown by its awesomeness and uniqueness. When I first saw the book, I fell in love with its cover. I was intrigued because it seems to be so mysterious and at the same time, inviting. The first few chapters were pretty much about the main characters but then it builds up the story. It’s fast paced, highly enjoyable read, making you want to flip more pages even though it’s already late night. The writing style of Miss Eliza is also superb! There are three point of views but her writing made it easier to understand what’s happening and not confusing at all. Her style also made the world of Daath more mysterious and frightening. She managed to continually build the tension until the end of the book.

I’m not exactly sure if any of the characters were relatable for me. But I do enjoyed them, especially Lucino and Avikar. Avikar is the main character who went with his best friend, Derrick, to search for her sister Jeslyn, who was kidnapped by Lucino. I found it amusing that despite the tension going on, Miss Eliza managed to create a love story for Avikar and his flirting with Raven didn’t feel out of place. Lucino, the story’s main villain, is one hot mess hahaha he’s my favorite character in the whole story! He is unique and fascinating. I was hoping for a background story but the little revelation towards the end of the book was more than enough for me. His character development is the one I enjoyed the most. From being a heartless prince who hated humans that slowly feels the warmth of love for a human. I DO BELIEVED THAT HE’S INLOVE WITH JESLYN SO BACK OFF PEOPLE! Though I think his battle and supposed death was kinda rushed.

As for the ladies, Jeslyn and Raven. Two different girls. I love Raven’s character more than Jeslyn. Raven is tough, brave, and your typical badass. Whenever Avikar is flirting with her, she doesn’t get girly girly but instead, fires back flirting remarks to Avikar which makes their love team natural. But despite the toughness, Raven can also be vulnerable. Jeslyn, on the other hand, is the opposite of Raven. What I don’t like from her is that she believed everything Lucino said (probably because of his spells. UGH THOSE EYES!) Her story line is interesting but I felt more excitement from Lucino or Avikar’s POV than her.

The most intriguing thing about the Broken Forest is the world. Particularly Daath. Imagine a place who everyone thought to be fictional but then suddenly, you learned that it is real. As Avikar explores the world, me, the reader, also explores it with him. I would liked to see more of it soon. Some parts of the story were left unexplored and unanswered, but I do think that it’s a great call that Miss Eliza didn’t put everything in book 1. Perhaps in book 2, I’ll see more of Daath and Lucino’s kind.

Leave a Reply

