Review: Mortal Gods by Kendare Blake

mg

“If you find a way, I’ll be there. Right to the end of the earth and over it.”


Date Published: October 14th 2014

Published by: Tor Teen

ISBN: 9781408330777

Pages: 341 pages

Status: Read from January 01 to 12, 2016

Rating: ★★★★


SUMMARY:

Ares, God of War, is leading the other dying gods into battle. Which is just fine with Athena. She’s ready to wage a war of her own, and she’s never liked him anyway. If Athena is lucky, the winning gods will have their immortality restored. If not, at least she’ll have killed the bloody lot of them, and she and Hermes can die in peace.

Cassandra Weaver is a weapon of fate. The girl who kills gods. But all she wants is for the god she loved and lost to return to life. If she can’t have that, then the other gods will burn, starting with his murderer, Aphrodite.

The alliance between Cassandra and Athena is fragile. Cassandra suspects Athena lacks the will to truly kill her own family. And Athena fears that Cassandra’s hate will get them ALL killed.

The war takes them across the globe, searching for lost gods, old enemies, and Achilles, the greatest warrior the world has ever seen. As the struggle escalates, Athena and Cassandra must find a way to work together. Because if they can’t, fates far worse than death await.


REVIEW:

I’m so sorry for the delay of my review, but anyway here it is!

I LOVED THE SEQUEL MORE THAN THE FIRST BOOK! I enjoyed every single page of this book; I’m glad I still picked it despite not loving the Antigoddess. It has more action, plot twists and mixed of emotions. Again, there’s some slow paced parts of the book, but that’s alright as it also prepares you for the big scenes. I also liked the addition of new characters: Gods and heroes. Achilles is such an awesome addition to the story, not just for the action but also for the humor. The actions in this book are more intense and lots of gore because here, Cassandra uses her power every time she has a chance and Ares, the god of war, joins the battles.

Another thing is the character development of Athena, still the brave leader of the group; I loved her more in this book. But I don’t think it is a right idea to make her seem to fall in love with one of the characters. Can’t stand the idea of the virgin goddess falling in love. The love triangle between Athena, Odysseus and Calypso makes my head hurt! I still loved Hermes, though. And the little scene of him and Athena in the bathroom made me felt sorry for him. Brother-sister goals, these two are.

As for Cassandra, I was kinda pissed at her because all she ever wanted was to take revenge on Aphrodite, the one who killed the love of her eyes, Aidan or Apollo. Of course I understand her part but because of her haste,  well some stupid things happened. She became selfish and mean, seriously mean.

I considered the ending a cliffhanger and unfortunately, I can’t find a copy of the 3rd book. I so want to know what happens next. And maybe, a beloved character will live again? Who knows. The book, like the first one, is written beautifully and I don’t have any complains about it.

 

Leave a Reply

