Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

3 more days before the release date of Glass Sword. Are you guys excited?

Capture

“Anyone can betray anyone.”


Date Published: February 10th 2015

Published by: Orion

ISBN: 9781409151173

Pages: 383 pages

Status: Read from May 14 to 18, 2015

Rating: ★★★★★


 

SUMMARY:

This is a world divided by blood – red or silver.

The Reds are commoners, ruled by a Silver elite in possession of god-like superpowers. And to Mare Barrow, a seventeen-year-old Red girl from the poverty-stricken Stilts, it seems like nothing will ever change.

That is, until she finds herself working in the Silver Palace. Here, surrounded by the people she hates the most, Mare discovers that, despite her red blood, she possesses a deadly power of her own. One that threatens to destroy the balance of power.

Fearful of Mare’s potential, the Silvers hide her in plain view, declaring her a long-lost Silver princess, now engaged to a Silver prince. Despite knowing that one misstep would mean her death, Mare works silently to help the Red Guard, a militant resistance group, and bring down the Silver regime.

But this is a world of betrayal and lies, and Mare has entered a dangerous dance – Reds against Silvers, prince against prince, and Mare against her own heart…


REVIEW:

THIS BOOK IS THE END OF ME!
THAT PLOT TWIST AND BETRAYAL!

The first few chapters of this book were a bit slow for me. I’m having troubles with the world building. Like I want to know more about the Reds and Silvers, who decided that the Reds should serve the Silvers, etc. But after those chapters, I enjoyed and loved the story. There are a lot of cliches but I really enjoyed that Mare has something not common to the Reds and that something is surprising even to the god-like Silvers.

As for the boys, I liked them both. In fact, I loved them. But if I were to choose one for Mare, I’ll still stick with Maven despite everything that happened. I think that Maven loves Mare in his own twisted way. And even after that plot twist, I couldn’t hate him. I SERIOUSLY THINK THAT HIS MOTHER HAS SOMETHING TO DO AS TO WHY HE BECAME LIKE THAT! SHE PROBABLY USED HER POWERS ON HIM UGHHH! If Mare ends up with Cal, I’m also fine with that. He’s a nice dude to her. It’s just that his appearances never stuck to me (unless it’s a very important one). But I hope the conflict between Mare and Maven settles first because they definitely love each other!

I can’t wait for Glass Sword! The ending of Red Queen is definitely a cliffhanger for me.

 

One thought on “Review: Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

Leave a Reply

